Volunteering Sites

I don’t know what your destiny will be, but one thing I do know: the only ones among you who will be really happy are those who have sought and found how to serve.

                    – Albert Schweitzer



Educate kids with special needs.  Role-play to simulate real world experience (be a police officer, a doctor, etc)

Where: 6220 E. Dublin Granville Rd, New Albany, OH 43054

When: Weekly

Contact Site Leader: Brandon Biggs biggs.69@osu.edu


Windsor Academy

Volunteers will tutor elementary school children through various educational activities that the teacher has prepared.  This may include reading, word-games, basic math games, etc.  This is a great way for volunteers to grow as leaders while also helping children to learn and grow.

Where: 2 Miles from Campus

When: Weekly

Contact Site Leader: Michael Young young.1682@osu.edu


Broad Street After School

One on one tutoring with elementary and high school aged kids.  Help with homework of all different subjects.

Where: 15 minutes away in downtown Columbus

When: TBA

Contact Site Leader: Craig Barrus barrus.5@osu.edu



Animal Care 

Colony Cats

Colony Cats is a cage-free adoption facility for homeless cats.  We assist with cleaning the facility, taking care of the cats, and giving the cats love!

Where: Dublin, OH

When: TBA

Contact Site Leader: Steven Fischer fischer.586@osu.edu


Franklin County Dog Shelter

The Franklin County Dog Shelter houses over 300 homeless dogs. Play with dogs in an outside enclosure.  Run around, have fun petting and playing with dogs.

Where: 4340 Tamarack Blvd. Columbus, OH

When: TBA

Website: http://www.franklincountyohio.gov/commissioners/ancl/

Contact Site Leader: Allison Brown brown.4610@osu.edu


Horse Rescue

Help around the farm doing odd jobs, such as cleaning stables and moving food.

Where: West Wind Statbles, Bellefontaine, OH

When: Monthly

Contact Site Leader: Meghan Pavithran pavithran.2@osu.edu



Feeding the Hungry

Faith Mission

Serve dinner to the men in need at Faith.

Where: Shelter on 8th Avenue

When: The First Wednesday of each month

Contact Site Leader: Adam Hershberger hershberger.81@osu.edu


Mid-Ohio Food Bank

Sort and pack donated food products to be distributed around 20 Ohio countries.

Where: Mid-Ohio Food Bank, Grove City

When: 3 times a semester

Contact Site Leader: Sarah Witsken witsken.2@osu.edu


Unverferth House

Unverferth House is a home for families who have family members in The Ohio State University Medical Center.  It is similar to the Ronald McDonald House.  We help with yard work as well as indoor cleaning.

Where: located on King Ave

When: TBA

Contact Site Leader: Saira Daroga daroga.1@osu.edu


Meals on Wheels

Volunteers will go around to less fortunate communities and drop off food to the senior citizens living there.  It’s a great way to see the neighborhoods around Columbus and help out those who are hungry.

Where: 670 Harmon Avenue

When: Second Sunday of each month, time TBA

Contact Site Leader: Anna Bross bross.23@osu.edu



Other Opportunities


12 hour Dance Marathon to raise money for cancer research at Nationwide Children’s Hospital.

Where: Ohio Union

When: February 14th – 15th 2014

Contact Site Leader: Michelle Witt witt.88@osu.edu


Relay for Life

Relay for Life of The Ohio State University.  Raise funds and awareness to save lives from cancer.

Where: Lincoln Tower Park

When: Friday, April 11, 2014 from 6:00pm – 12:00pm

Contact Site Leader: Hallie Sansbury  sansbury.16@osu.edu; Hannah Lee  lee.5735@osu.edu